Honors students selected for scholarship program, national conference

  PDF this page

Students in the Lee College Honors Program have earned a coveted spot on a national academic team and been invited to present their work alongside undergraduates from around the world at a prestigious academic conference.

Micah Bullard, a dual-credit student who will graduate from the college in May, has been selected a 2016 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar. Bullard is one of just 50 students in the United States to be named a Silver Scholar and will receive a $1,250 scholarship. A past recipient of the Dorothy Cooke Hayes Outstanding Honors Student Award and a recognized Honors Program completer, he intends to transfer to a four-year university following graduation.

More than 1,900 students applied this year for the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team. The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society to recognize high-achieving students at two-year colleges who demonstrate academic excellence, intellectual rigor, leadership and service that extends beyond the classroom to benefit society.

Seven Honors Program students have been selected to attend the National Undergraduate Literature Conference, to be held March 31-April 2 at Weber State University in Utah: Matthew Broussard, who will present on “The Hobbit;” Brandon Cooper, who will present on “Seven;” Hunter McHugh, who will present on “Bernice Bobs Her Hair;” Brenna Sallee, who will present on “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof;” Miranda Sallee, who will present on “Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic;” Michael Smith, who will present on “Lord of the Flies;” and Siavash Zamirpour, who will present on “Giovanni’s Room.”

The Lee College students, whose Honors Program instructors encouraged them to apply for the conference based on the strength of seminar papers they wrote in the Human Condition course, will join nearly 200 undergraduate writers and poets from throughout North America and beyond to share their work and learn from some of the most important writers in contemporary literature. Pulitzer Prize winners Douglas Blackmon and Kay Ryan will be the featured authors at the event.

For more information about the Lee College Honors Program, contact coordinator Georgeann Ward at or visit